Press Releases

CompTIA Introduces Stackable Certifications

Dec 20, 2017
New credentials recognize commitment to career growth

Downers Grove, Ill. – CompTIA, the leading provider of vendor-neutral skills certifications for information technology (IT) professionals around the world, today launched a major expansion of its credentialing program with the introduction of CompTIA Stackable Certifications.

More than 145,000 IT professionals who have attained more than one CompTIA certification were notified today that they’ve earned a CompTIA Stackable Certification, recognizing their deep expertise and strong commitment to continuous professional development and growth.

“The technology professionals who’ve earned CompTIA Stackable Certifications have done so by passing rigorous exams developed by the industry to validate the technical and business skills that are in the highest demand in today’s economy,” said Todd Thibodeaux, president and CEO, CompTIA.

CompTIA Stackable Certifications are aligned across two pathways that serve as the foundation for any IT career: infrastructure and cybersecurity.

“More so than any other certifying body, CompTIA makes extensive use of performance-based questions and simulations in its exams,” said James Stanger, CompTIA’s chief technology evangelist. “These simulations accurately reflect the real-world scenarios IT pros face daily, requiring test-takers to demonstrate skills in networking, cybersecurity and other areas under the pressure of a timed test.”

CompTIA certified IT professionals are eligible for a variety of stackable certifications. For example:

  • CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Network+ = CompTIA IT Operations Specialist
  • CompTIA A+ and CompTIA Linux+ = CompTIA Systems Support Specialist
  • CompTIA Network+ and CompTIA Server+ = CompTIA Network Infrastructure Professional
  • CompTIA Network+ and CompTIA Cloud+ = CompTIA Cloud Administration Professional
  • CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+ and CompTIA Security+ = CompTIA Secure Infrastructure Associate
  • CompTIA Security + and CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst = CompTIA Security Analytics Specialist
  • CompTIA Security+, CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst and CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner = CompTIA Security Analytics Expert

CompTIA Stackable Certifications require active CE certifications. Holders of “good-for-life” certifications may earn stackable certifications by re-certifying and validating that their skills are up to date. The complete list of CompTIA Stackable Certifications and eligibility requirements are available at Certification holders can log into their CompTIA certification account to review the status of their credentials.

CompTIA is the global leader in vendor-neutral technical certifications for IT professionals in skills ranging from IT support and networking, to cybersecurity and cloud computing. CompTIA has awarded more than two million certifications to technology professionals around the world. Operating in more than 100 countries, CompTIA works closely with its 3,000 academic, training and content partners to ensure students and professionals have the tools they need to enter and excel in the tech workforce.

CompTIA: Building the Foundation for Technology's Future

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is the world's leading technology association, with approximately 2,000 member companies, 3,000 academic and training partners, over 100,000 registered users and more than two million IT certifications issued. CompTIA's unparalleled range of programs foster workforce skills development and generate critical knowledge and insight – building the foundation for technology’s future. Visit CompTIA online, Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter to learn more. 

Steven Ostrowski